What is a bang bang man?

Bang Bang Men of Chongqing. Equipped with a bamboo pole or ’bangzi,’ whose name inspired the popular nickname of the porters, the Bang Bang men carry up to 80 kilograms of traded goods on their shoulders up steep hills and thousands of steps into the high-rise homes that dominate this metropolis.