What is the ozone?

Ozone is a gas made up of three oxygen atoms (O3). It occurs naturally in small (trace) amounts in the upper atmosphere (the stratosphere).

---

The Ozone is a layer that is part of our Earth's atmosphere containing high concentrations of ozone gas. The main function of the ozone layer is to absorb the Sun's ultraviolet radiation, thereby protecting Earth from it's harmful effects.