What is the movie flight about?

Commercial airline pilot Whip Whitaker has a problem with drugs and alcohol, when His luck runs out and a disastrous mechanical malfunction sends his plane hurtling toward the ground. Whip crash-lands and vows to get sober, but when the crash exposes his addiction his situation turns more dire.