What is a mercury switch?

A mercury switch is an electrical switch that opens and closes a circuit when a small amount of the liquid metal mercury connects metal electrodes to close the circuit.

---

An in wall switch that uses a small amount or mercury to provide closed circuit. They were used to provide "silent" switches in homes and offices