Why is the teddy bear called a teddy bear?

Because of Teddy Roosevelt. He was an avid hunter who decided not to shoot a bear tied to a tree. As a result of the story going viral, Morris Michtom and his wife Rose also made stuffed animals and create a stuffed toy bear calling it 'Teddy's Bear'.