Are buffaloes and bisons the same thing?

Although both buffalo and bison come from the Bovidae family, they are not the same animal. Buffalo are native to Africa and Asia, while Bison are found in Europe and North America. One notable phyical difference is that the buffalo has very large horns and the bison's horns are much shorter.