Can you use expired toothpaste?

Toothpaste expires, but using toothpaste past its expiration date isn't harmful. It becomes less beneficial, the active ingredients become less effective over time. Both the U.S. Food and Drug Administration and the American Dental Association require toothpaste to have an expiration date.

---

The American Dental Association says that "if you have an open tube of toothpaste that you have been using, but it is now past the expiration date, you may continue to use it until it is gone."