How long is one stick of butter?

Butter is usually sold in one or ½ pound packages, divided into 2 or 4 sticks. In the United States, there are two types of butter sticks: East of the Rocky Mountains butter sticks are 4.8 inches long each. West of the Rocky Mountains, butter sticks are 3.1 inches long each.