Who was the first ghost rider?

The original Ghost Rider, who debuted in Tim Holt #11 (Magazine Ent., 1949), was Rex Fury, a Western character who had been introduced several issues earlier as The Calico Kid. Later, Marvel revived the character as Carter Slade, frontier lawyer, and, in 1972, as Johnny Blaze, motorcycle stunt man.