What is a y. coordinate?

A y-coordinate is the second element in an ordered pair. When an ordered pair is graphed as the coordinates of a point in the coordinate plane, the y-coordinate represents the directed distance of the point from the x-axis. Another name for the y-coordinate is the ordinate.