How many ounces are in an ice cream scoop?

Portion-scoops (most folks call them “ice cream scoops) come in an array of sizes, each denoted by a number. This number is the number of scoops in a quart. So, a 32 scoop would be a 1-ounce scoop, whereas an 8 scoop would be a 4–ounce scoop.