How rare is it to find diamonds in minecraft?

Diamonds can be obtained from diamond ore, a rare find found in about ~0.0846% of blocks in levels 5-16. Diamonds can be found anywhere beneath layer 16, but is most common in layers 5-12 in version 1.17. 1 and below; in versions 1.18 and later they are expected to be between layers -50 - -64.