What does auto orientation mean?

Auto rotate is a feature on smartphones and tablets that matches the screen's orientation with the device's actual orientation. It uses the gyroscope to detect if a device is used vertically or horizontally, and changes the display setting to either portrait or landscape mode accordingly.