How long does it take amethyst to grow in minecraft?

A game tick in Minecraft happens every 0.05 seconds, with 20 happening in a single second, so these crystals do not take too long to grow. If you want to grow multiple on a budding Amethyst block, you can free up all of the blocks surrounding it and wait for more to develop.