Is sugar an electrolyte?

Sugar is not technically an electrolyte. However, glucose (a simple sugar that comes from food and drinks) does help with the absorption of electrolytes and makes it easier for them to do their various jobs. When consumed in the proper amounts, electrolytes and sugar can work together.