How fast can the fastest person on earth run?

In 2009, Usain Bolt, a Jamaican sprinter, set the world record in the 100-meter sprint at 9.58 seconds. Bolt’s speed during his world-record run was 10.44 meters per second. That equates to 37.58 kilometres per hour or 23.35 miles per hour.