What makes a geode?

What makes a geode? Geodes are formed when there are pockets of air within rocks. This happens after volcanic eruptions when lava cools around air bubbles. The pockets leave space for groundwater to seep in. The water brings along minerals which stay in the rock even after the water evaporates.