Why did they call shoeless joe jackson?

Joseph Jefferson (Shoeless Joe) Jackson played Major League Baseball in the early 1900s. Jackson claimed he got his nickname during a textile mill league game. Jackson had blisters on his foot and took his shoes off. When a heckler shouted "You shoeless son of a gun, you!", the name stuck.