Does bird seed expire?

High oil seed in bird seed mixes can go rancid in time. So yes bird seed can expire. If you open a bag and it has a rancid smell by all means put it in the compost or throw away and do not feed to birds. If you want to prevent any bird seed from going rancid store in the freezer will prevent it.