Do dogs have memory?

Yes; dogs use two different forms of memory: short term and long term. Dogs' short term memory is very limited compared to humans - only about 70 seconds. Dogs' long term memory, which is when they associate a sound, smell or visual cue with a known behavior or emotion, is more effective.