What happens when you say beetlejuice three times?

if you say the name Beetlejuice three times fast, the magical trickster himself will appear before you

---

Betelgeuse only needs to be exhumed from his grave to be summoned, after which he is free to wreak havoc; he cannot be summoned or controlled by saying his name three times, and wanders the world freely, appearing to torment different characters in different manifestations.