Where does the term catfish come from?

According to the documentary "Catfish" the term catfish comes from fishermen putting catfish in with the cod to nip at their tails and keep them active in order to produce more lively fresh meat. Today an activity where a person creates a fake a social account, targeting a victim for deception.