Who was pygmalion's beloved?

The Roman poet Ovid tells the story of Pygmalion, a sculptor, who carves the statue of a woman out of ivory and then falls in love with his own creation, which he names Galatea. The goddess Venus then brings the statue to life in response to his prayers.