When do black bears start to hibernate?

November Depending on snowfall, temperature and food supply, bears get ready for winter hibernation in late November. The denning period in Yellowstone National Park is approximately 5 months. Grizzly bears and black bears generally do not eat, drink, defecate, or urinate during hibernation.