How do you tell if a hermit crab is a girl or a boy?

Male hermit crabs have appendages called spermatophores and female hermit crabs have small holes called gonopores. They are located close in to the body, near the joint of the cephalothorax and abdomen, making it difficult for a hermit crab owner to safely check.