What's refiners syrup?

Syrup, or at least maple syrup, is manufactured from the sap of a Maple tree. It is collected, and heated to separate the water and solids. This is usually about 7 degrees above the boiling point of water. The resulting liquid is skimmed off the top, filtered, and it is packaged as syrup.