What's the difference between a salamander and a lizard?

Lizards can tolerate some harsh climates like deserts; a salamander needs moist pollution free environment Lizards have a leathery scale skin; salamanders have a smooth cool skin; Lizards have long nails while salamander has stubs Lizards lays eggs on land while most salamander lay eggs in water