What is a blast furnace?

In Minecraft, a blast furnace is similar to a regular furnace, but it smelts ores twice as fast.

---

A blast furnace is a type of metallurgical furnace used for smelting to produce industrial metals, generally pig iron, but also others such as lead or copper. Blast refers to the combustion air being "forced" or supplied above atmospheric pressure.