What's the difference between a motel and a hotel?

Motels commonly have one floor and guests access their rooms directly from the parking lot. Hotels can contain hundreds of rooms and several floors. And rooms are accessed from inside a hallway.

---

In general motels tend to be cheaper with little in amenities, good if you are looking for a bare-bones sleeping place. Hotels tend to be more inclusive with more amenities and comfort, and therefore generally more expensive.