What is a biologic?

A biologic is any pharmaceutical drug product manufactured in, extracted from, or semisynthesized from biological sources. The anti-inflammatory drug Humira was the best-selling biologic in the United States.

---

A biologic drug is a product that is produced from living organisms or contain components of living organisms. Biologic drugs include a wide variety of products derived from human, animal, or microorganisms by using biotechnology.