Why do cats twitch their tails?

Twitching the tail tip while holding it low and straight is often associated with hunting. Rapid tail movement may be a sign of aggression or unhappiness. A high, quivering tail and defensive posture indicates the cat is feeling threatened. A quivering tail and friendly posture indicates excitement