How do you harvest lemongrass?

You can begin harvesting lemongrass as soon as the plant is about a foot tall. Cut or break off a stalk that is at least 1/4 inch thick. The most tender part is at the bottom, so remove it as close to the ground as possible. Once you have harvested, remove the woody outer portion and the leaves.