What is a blue moon mean?

If there are 2 full moons in the same month, the second full moon is called a "blue moon". This happens because the lunar cycle is about 29.5 days, but calendar months are 28, 29, 30, or 31 days. On average, there will be at least one blue moon about every 2 to 3 years.