Who are the teletubbies based on?

Teletubbies are based on NASA astronauts. Created by Andrew Davenport, as he felt their movements “looked like little children exploring a new world,” teletubbies are intended to help young children develop their physical, emotional & cognitive skills in a warm, loving & playful environment.