What's inside salsa?

Salsa, in Spanish, simply means "sauce" and can take a variety of forms. Pico de gallo (a.k.a. salsa fresca) is a type of salsa made with chopped fresh tomatoes and onions, cilantro, fresh chilis, lime juice, and salt.