What does the yellow halo mean?

Yellow halo around a Cordana leaf spot lesion on a banana leaf, caused by the plant-pathogenic fungus, Cordana musae. These spots typically are surrounded by a yellow halo. Such yellow halos are associated with toxin production by fungal plant pathogens such as Cordana.