What does artichoke taste like?

Artichokes have a clean,fresh,earthy taste like most vegetables.It doesn't have a strong flavor profile.Unseasoned artichoke would bring to mind the taste of fried egg whites.The taste of artichokes when boiled falls somewhere in between celery & asparagus with a gentle nutty undertone like broccoli