What does root beer have in it?

While no standard recipe exists, the primary ingredients in modern root beer are filtered water, sugar, and safrole-free sassafras extract, which complements other flavors.

---

The root in root beer is originally from the plant sassafras. Sassafras was a common ingredient in root beer and other sodas until 1960, when the FDA banned it in commercial food and drugs.