What cleans brass?

For tougher cleaning jobs, pull out the ketchup, tomato sauce, or tomato paste. Simply rub a thin coat onto the brass, let sit for an hour or so, and then clean the piece with hot, soapy water. Another option is to make a paste of equal parts salt, flour, and white vinegar.