How did alaska become part of the united states?

The USA bought it in 1867 for $7,200,000. Russia feared that Alaska would be easily captured in any future battle. Russia approached both the British and Americans in 1859. The British Prime Minister rejected the offer, and so they turned to the Americans. It was made a state in 1959.