How is plastic recycled?

Plastic is recycled by it melting down to small pieces used to create new "recycled plastic" products.

---

First the plastic is sorted, which is mainly done automatically with a manual sort to ensure all contaminants have been removed. Once sorted and cleaned, plastic can either be shredded into flakes or melt processed to form pellets before finally being molded into new products.