What is the giant redwood?

Sequoiadendron giganteum, known as the Giant Redwood, is the only species in a monotypic genus. It is one of three species collectively known as redwoods, along with the Coast Redwood, Sequoia sempervirens, and the Dawn Redwood, Metasequoia glyptostroboides.