Why do dogs lick the air?

Licking in general is often a sign of stress in dogs. PetMD lists licking as a canine behavior that releases endorphins in the brain. ... If you see your pup licking the air for long periods of time every day, there's a chance the habit has evolved into a compulsive disorder.