What is it mean when there's a ring around the moon?

A ring around the moon is caused when moonlight passes through high clouds of ice crystals. Thus, it means there's ice in the air.

---

A lunar halo is caused by the refraction, reflection, and dispersion of light through ice particles suspended within thin, wispy, high altitude cirrus or cirrostratus clouds. It usually suggests rain or snow is coming soon.