How do you defeat a lionel?

Use your bow for up-close headshots, which will stun the Lynel. If you can shoot it in the head with an Ice Arrow, you'll freeze it long enough to climb on top of it and deliver a few more blows to the head. Beating a Lynel in BOTW takes a lot of patience, so be prepared for a lengthy battle.