What's the difference between a white onion and a yellow onion?

The primary difference between yellow and white onion is their distinct flavor profiles. Yellow onion, which has a yellow-brown papery skin, is a dry onion with a strong flavor, while white onion is a variety of dry onions with white papery skin and a mild flavor profile.