Why is it important to devein shrimp?

Removing the vein is a matter of personal preference and taste, not hygiene. It's not harmful to eat. If the vein is really pronounced—dark or thick—you may want to devein the shrimp for a tidier look. Larger shrimp can also have grittier veins, which can have an unappealing texture.