Is epilepsy hereditary?

Yes, experts believe that, in many cases, genetic predisposition combined with environmental conditions lead to epilepsy. About 30 to 40 percent of epilepsy is caused by genetic predisposition. First-degree relatives of people with inherited epilepsy have a 2- to 4-fold increased risk for epilepsy.