How much damage does a longsword do?

In the Player's Handbook, the longsword is a one-handed military melee weapon in the heavy blade group. It deals 1d8 damage, costs 15 gp, and weighs 4 lbs. It is a versatile weapon, meaning that it deals an additional point of damage if wielded two-handed.