Why is lightning mcqueen's number ninety five?

His racing number, "95" is a reference to the year 1995, when Pixar's first feature-length film,Toy Story was released. Lightning's last name "McQueen" is a reference to Glenn McQueen, a supervising animator at Pixar who passed away in 2002.